Sign in to follow this  
Zeus

#112: 覇道明王by 陰陽座

Featured Review Poll 112  

12 members have voted

1. 1. Did this review get you curious to check out this band?

• Never heard of them before and I might go further.
    • Never heard of them before and this isn't interesting me.
    • Already know of them, all over this album.
    • Already know for them, don't care for them.
    • I'm just here for the jokes.

SMEsxwf.png

:_9/10_: | How does a band that delivers the same music for over 15 years defy expectations?

Like DEATHGAZE and lynch., 陰陽座 (Onmyouza) is that type of band that sticks to their guns and delivers the same style of music with each release. Also like DEATHGAZE and lynch., 陰陽座 (Onmyouza) is the kind of the band that won't do much to change your mind, no matter how many times they come knocking at your door with a new sales pitch. When I was a J-music novice, I thought being one-dimensional was a bad thing because I rated diversity much more highly than I probably should have, mostly due to the way many visual kei bands use diversity as a musical condiment. What is more important to me now is that a band delivers every time they announce a new song or album. While the two visual kei bands I mentioned earlier haven't been the paragons of consistency, 陰陽座 definitely is. There's not an album in their catalog that I would consider sub par - this is impressive with a career spanning almost twenty years and fifteen albums - and their newest album, 覇道明王, continues that trend.