Sign in to follow this  
Pretsy

Seiko Oomori - Sennou

大森靖子 - 洗脳 (Seiko Oomori – Sennou)

topic_jk1.jpg

[asthmatic ”AAAAAAAH”] | :4.0:

(perfect albums don't really exist k)

What is already given but worth being repeated anyway: you don’t have to follow convenient pop sensibilities in order to be intriguing from mainstream perspective. Latest album by Seiko, ”Sennou” is demonstrating this trait in a way most might call “disastrous” - while minorities (incl. “bad” vocal aficionados  like me) on the other hand go out of their way to call it “pure genius”.

“洗脳” is Seiko Oomori’s 3rd full-length, and also the major debut release by courtesy of (notorious) Avex Group. Compared to her earlier, “freak folky”(I am not good with genres, so gomen my ass) repertoire, this album is stacked with various genres and influences related to Seiko’s usual tendencies to make fun of dominating J-pop and Idol trends; you have dubstep, lounge, pop rock anthems, rave…not to mention some tunes that might even please dedicated fanboys/girls of Mr. Bungle-ian clusterfucks. (un)necessary trivia: the latter is mainly attributed to her main influences, that include earlier “dominatrices of j-rock/j-pop” - Jun Togawa and Ringo Shiina (pre-Ringo no Uta era) – folks stanning for mentioned ladies, get thrilled!

What makes “洗脳” worth being a must-try for every J-pop/rock enthusiast is abstract beauty of backup instrumentation correlating with Seiko’s quirky vocal performance that screams out adolescent naivety in calmer numbers like twisted fairyland-y “ナナちゃんの再生講座” and touchy “呪いは水色”, teenage playfulness in e.g. dubstep/rave-influenced “イミテーションガール”and synthpoppy “ロックンロールパラダイス” + pure havoc and misery of young adults in ultra-catchy rock number “絶対絶望絶好調”. Track-by-track analyses would be plain lazy (messy results too) - that being taken into account, I will summarize the overall meaning behind my age class metaphors BRIEFLY (no in-depth BS!*):