Sign in to follow this  
Reizoko

Visual Kei in and outside of Japan

Before I start with this, let me tell you that this post might become long, so prepare to read a long text or feel free to leave if you don't feel like reading.

This thread is supposed to be about the way people in Japan/Japanese people see Visual Kei as opposed to how it's seen outside of Japan, by people like us.

I used to like Visual Kei back in 06/07 and certainly had my weeaboo moments back then, trying to dress veekay and stuff, although it didn't last that long. My interested faded with time and for the last couple of years I've only been listening to exactly 1 Visual Kei band, which is Versailles, probably due to the fact that about 70% of the music I listened to in the past couple of years is Power Metal and similar music. When I graduated High school in '09 I decided to major in Japanese Studies in University and me liking Visual Kei in the past certainly was a factor that led me to do this, although before starting University I knew that Visual Kei is basically not popular in Japan and that studying Japanese Studies will have nothing to do with Visual Kei. Even so I wanted to know more about the country where Visual Kei originally comes from.